photography 201: assignment 1

I turned in my photos for our first homework assignment.  We were asked to take window portraits using natural light.  The assignment called for vertical portraits of various poses with and without a modifier.  A modifier is a simple reflective device used to bounce light back onto the subject, in this case a person.

I didn’t realize there are gold reflectors.  In the past I had just seen silver and white diffusers as well. But apparently there are gold toned and also a sliver/gold toned reflectors out there for purchase. Depending on skin tone, these color variants can really make a difference.  I happened to already have a silver visor for the car.  It worked perfectly.

A disclaimer: In class we did plain old boring head shots, which I suppose I thought that’s what was expected.  But some great poses showed up in the homework.  I wish I would have taken more time on posing these but the idea of the homework was to learn how to use and see what a difference modifiers can do.

with out modifier

with modifier

with out modifier. I like the shadows on his face in this one. But the other really brings out the background nicely.

with modifier.

with out modifier.

with modifier. Wow, what a difference this made. This is one of my favorites of this series.

 

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “photography 201: assignment 1

  1. dad says:

    Drew just cannot pose “himself” – he always projects somebody else’s persona – lol

Leave a Reply

