experiments

As mentioned over on drewanie, I have been working with my good friend Becca on a logo design for melovision.  She is so very talented and I’m super excited to share with everyone how the logo is turning out.  She is currently working on the final touches but here is a little sneak peak at the logo.

In other news, I have used lensrentals.com to rent some equipment for Michael and Anna‘s wedding on Saturday.  I got an awesome zoom lens, Canon EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS and also a Canon Speedlite 580EX II.

Now, I’m not the biggest fan of flash.  I don’t even know how to fully take advantage of flash.  I much prefer natural light.  But sometimes you need it which means I’ve been busy learning a new skill. First, let me show you what the zoom lens can do.

As you can see my messy dining room, I mean as you can see there is a lot of natural light going on. But here is what happens when I utilized the awesome zooming skills of my borrowed lens.

with out flash.

with flash.

The difference is incredible. Even though I didn’t need the flash while I shot the entire room, it was much needed once I extended my focal length.  But what does flash do to an entire room that is somewhat still lit with some evening light?

Here’s a simple shot of a living room late in the evening with out utilizing flash.

without flash.

Next I made several attempts to lighten up the room a bit.  My shutter speed was fairly slow therefore filling the room is a bit of light would help me capture moving people much better.

full flash directly pointed at corner.

flash pointed at right wall/corner.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In my opinion the full flash straight on is way too much.  A blast of terrible white light. The image on the right I feel is much better.  The flash is blending in with the natural light coming from the windows.  In my opinion it’s a softer light that will allow me to capture brighter photos and shoot at a higher speed.  Me likes.

Wish me luck as I shoot the wedding tomorrow. It’s going to be a fun day!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 615 other followers